A Year In Review

The Power of Looking Back

Merry Christmas

I hope everyone had a lovely Christmas Day yesterday.

I spent the weekend with family and watching my kids rip open presents.

Today’s Quote

Remember how far you’ve come, not just how far you have left to go. You are not where you want to be, but neither are you where you used to be.

Rick Warren

A Year In Review

  • You’ve done more than you realize.

We often get lost in the chase.

The yearning for what’s next.

The desire for more.

It’s good to have big dreams.

It’s good to aspire to great things.

But we must never lose sight all that we accomplished along the way.

Too often the drive for more, blinds us from all that we’ve already accomplished.

I bet you’d be surprised at all that’s happened this last year.

Take some time this week to reflect on 2023.

Did you do what you set out to do?

How will you continue in 2024?

How will you change?

  • My year in review

This is has been an eventful and memorable year.

In January my kids and I built our first real snowman and Charlie experienced her first ball drop at 1.5 months old.

Sayler got her teeth cleaned for the first time in February.

It was also around this time that I decided I was going to sell my gym.

We officially were making plans to move our family and change everything this coming summer.

In April my son went to his first ever movie Super Mario Bros.

On May 1st I officially stepped away from the gym and started to work on things to get the house ready to sell.

I turned 40 in June.

We did a family trip to Hilton Head which was incredible.

When we got back our house had officially gone into contract.

I became stay home dad while getting things packed and ready to sell.

The first week in July I started working on the new house.

Painting, finishing the floors, changing outlets and light fixtures.

We officially moved July 15th.

From there it has been a whirlwind.

I built out a home gym and set up my office.

Got Hunter into school.

Became a coach for Wooster High School Softball.

Decided to be stay-home dad for the the time being to save money.

Finished writing one book and started another.

Went to 3 incredible football games to support my guy Dewayne’s final season.

Hosted another Edge of Greatness Summit.

Had my podcast get picked up by a television network (NGBN).

Became a small percentage owner in that network.

Started renovations on my kitchen in the middle of all of this.

I’ve also been able to make some incredible connections via X and LinkedIn that have me excited about the direction for 2024.

The days go slow, but the years go fast.

So fast sometimes we don’t realize what all we’ve accomplished.

Take a moment and look back on 2023 and see just how far you’ve come.

3 Good Things

Good Watch:

Not sure how to review your year? Here’s a fun little video about how to take a look back on your year and review, but also set up the next year.

Good Watch:

Why should we reflect? What benefits come from a moment of reflection? This short little clip from Simon Sinek speaks to how reflection plays a role in his development. Check out the video here.

Good Motivation:

We’re just 1 week away from the start of 2024. Are you still waiting until the start of the new year to get started? Stop waiting, take your first step today. Here’s a little push to help you get started. Make 2024 your best year yet. Check out the video here.

Need a Coach?

As an athlete I always appreciated good coaching.

It often made the difference between a successful season and an average one.

When you’ve got big goal to compete at the highest level, it helps to have someone looking at the big picture, while you focus on the specific actions.

Have you got something big coming up?

Need someone to help organize the path forward?

Let me know what you’re working on and we’ll see if I’m the right fit.

I've spent the last 15 years working with clients as a personal trainer and coach helping them build healthy sustainable habits.

During this time I've learned the psychology of habit creation, the power of systems, and why simple works better.

I'd love to help you reach your goals.

I'm currently looking to add 2 new coaching clients to my roster.

If this sounds interesting to you, connect with me today and let's schedule a call to see if we're a good fit for each other.

Email me at [email protected]

Check Out Our Sponsors

We started working with a few new teams.

If you follow me on social media you’ve seen my new shorts/reels and clips.

These are made possible by OpusClip.

OpusClip is an A.I. generated clip creator with brand functionality that makes cutting longer form video extremely easy.

Our second sponsor is ASEA.

Their revolutionary cell signaling REDOX molecule is changing the way we can impact our health.

Check out what ASEA and REDOX can do for you today.

Did you know?

I often forget to share all the ways you can connect and get involved with the Edge of Greatness project.

And since you’ve made it this far, perhaps you’re interested in more of what we do.

Free:

Paid:

  1. Books: Be Great or Master of the Sea

  2. Speaking

  3. Coaching

  4. Apparel

  5. Collaboration/Sponsorships (reply to this email)

Thanks for Stopping By

Thanks for coming by. I hope you enjoyed this week's issue. If you'd like more content before next Tuesday visit The Edge of Greatness Project.

If you're working on a project or just need some help, please don't hesitate to reach out. I'd love to help you get to your next milestone. Just reply to this email.

It'd be great if you shared this with a friend. See you guys next week.