Life Isn't Meant To Be Done Alone

Find a Coach, Build a Team

Holiday Season

For all of my American subscribers I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving.

This was a nice break from things for me and some time with family.

Unfortunately, this year I didn’t get to see my family, but I know we’ll get together soon.

As the holiday season progresses I hope you all take time to be with loved ones.

Take a break from the hustle of life and let things slow down for a bit

I love using the holidays to start looking to the future and preparing myself for the upcoming year.

I also love how much slower my life becomes.

I’d love to hear some of your holiday traditions.

Reply to this email and let me know how you like to spend the holidays.

1 Quote

A good coach can change a game. A great coach can change a life.

John Wooden

2 Lessons

  • Build a team.

Entrepreneurship is a lonely road at times.

You often feel as if you’re on your own.

Trying to figure out everything by yourself.

That doesn’t have to be the case.

Honestly, life isn’t meant to be lived alone.

We aren’t designed to do it by yourself.

Recently I hired a coach.

I hired him to help me set my target more clearly.

I have a constant flow of ideas all the time.

It’s fun being creative, but distracting when it comes to getting things done.

Over time I’ve learned what my strengths are and where I struggle.

Finding people to assist you with your struggle points is vital to continued growth.

Yesterday I had 4 different business calls and a podcast interview.

It was an extremely busy day, but I felt I grew more and expanded my team more in 24 hours than I had in the last few weeks.

My first call was with my coach.

Then I had a call with another coach, that talked to me about sales funnels and scaling.

Something I’m not ready for, but the information was great and I’ve got a future teammate available now.

Then I had a call about putting my podcast on TV.

I’ll post more about this in the coming weeks, but some exciting things happening there.

Did an interview with a guy who I feel is a great ambassador of my work.

Then finished the night with a late night call with a guy from Bali.

We shared a very similar personality and process, and we spent 45 minutes helping each other.

Sharing ideas, giving our thoughts, expanding our minds to try something different.

I learned more about next steps in a day, because I sought out help.

You may have all kinds of amazing answers and ideas.

Possibly even the smartest person in the room.

Doesn’t mean you have to do it alone.

Start building a team.

Have a guy or girl that you trust and believe in for all the potential problems you face.

I wouldn’t be growing the way I am today if I was trying to do it by myself.

Not sure where to start when it comes to building your team, let me know what you’re looking for, I might know the right fit.

I’d be happy to connect you.

  • Preparing for the game of life

As a former athlete and coach I look at life like a sports season.

There’s a pre-season phase where we’re planning and preparing.

We set goals.

We put our eyes on the big championship game.

We start to breakdown the steps to get there.

Then there’s the regular season.

We have practices.

Our intensity and focus starts to pick up.

We’ve got games or smaller level competitions.

Everything is geared toward peaking at the end of the season.

Then you have the post-season.

These are win or go home moments.

The pressure is mounting, the stakes are higher, and we’re looking to win.

But in order to win we must be operating at a high level and ready to compete.

We have one goal, to compete for the championship.

This approach can be used to anything you want in life.

Any type of goal can be laid out like this.

Run a marathon, compete in a Spartan Race, Iron man, Ted Talk, launch a business, propose to your girlfriend.

What’s your next big game?

Are you giving a speech in front of 15,000 people next year?

Are you planning to open a new storefront or business?

Are you writing a book?

Whatever it is, you need to start to plan (pre-season).

Start implementing your plan and practicing daily (regular season).

You’ll want to do some trial runs and compete in various ways to keep the process fun (games).

Eventually, we need to increase the pressure (post season).

A soft opening to try some things out.

A smaller venue speech to work through your nerves.

But we’re building toward our ultimate championship game.

Break up your next big goal like this and let me know how it goes.

I think you’ll find it useful.

Got a real big championship opportunity coming up?

Let me know about it.

3 Good Things

Good Watch:

I’ve always been a big fan of Simon Sinek. I’ve read a number of his books, but this interview caught my eye this week. Check out this fun interview about leadership and how to Simon likes to approach his work.

Good Read:

As we wind down 2023 I wanted to share the most impactful book I read in 2023; The Comfort Crisis by Michael Easter. I read this toward the beginning of the year and it has held the top spot throughout all the other books I’ve dug into. We love to get comfortable, feel comfortable, but life is improved in the zones of discomfort. In order to grow we must embrace discomfort and seek it out.

Good Motivation:

Sometimes we just a need a reminder that we have something worth chasing. I came across this video that is a compilation of various motivational speeches. Feeling stuck? Want a little push this morning? Give this video a quick watch and get to work!

Need a Coach?

As an athlete I always appreciated good coaching.

It often made the difference between a successful season and an average one.

When you’ve got big goal to compete at the highest level, it helps to have someone looking at the big picture, while you focus on the specific actions.

Have you got something big coming up?

Need someone to help organize the path forward?

Let me know what you’re working on and we’ll see if I’m the right fit.

I've spent the last 15 years working with clients as a personal trainer and coach helping them build healthy sustainable habits.

During this time I've learned the psychology of habit creation, the power of systems, and why simple works better.

I'd love to help you reach your goals.

I'm currently looking to add 2 new coaching clients to my roster.

If this sounds interesting to you, connect with me today and let's schedule a call to see if we're a good fit for each other.

Email me at [email protected]

Did you know?

I often forget to share all the ways you can connect and get involved with the Edge of Greatness project.

And since you’ve made it this far, perhaps you’re interested in more of what we do.

Free:

Paid:

  1. Books: Be Great or Master of the Sea

  2. Speaking

  3. Coaching

  4. Apparel

  5. Collaboration/Sponsorships (reply to this email)

Thanks for Stopping By

Thanks for coming by. I hope you enjoyed this week's issue. If you'd like more content before next Tuesday visit The Edge of Greatness Project.

If you're working on a project or just need some help, please don't hesitate to reach out. I'd love to help you get to your next milestone. Just reply to this email.

It'd be great if you shared this with a friend. See you guys next week.

Happy Thanksgiving!