Find Your Charging Stations

Don't Let the World Steal Your Energy

Quick Update

Hope everyone had a great weekend.

I’ve been working through a few things and have some exciting things coming over the next few weeks.

I’m not ready to release all the details yet, but keep your eyes out for two things in the coming weeks.

One is a big announcement about the podcast.

The other is a new coaching program that I’ve been putting together, that I believe will be extremely helpful during the start of the New Year.

I’m extremely excited about where we’re at and where we’re going.

Hope you continue to tag along and enjoy the ride.

1 Quote

Accept what is. Let go of what was. And have faith in what will be.

Sonia Ricotti

2 Lessons

  • Do your relationships give you energy?

The people we surround ourself with are either energy givers or energy takers.

Some, may do a little of both.

When looking at the people you choose to let into your life, we must remember this.

This weekend I spent time in Nashville with my best friend to celebrate his 40th birthday.

It was a nice little group of 8 of us, that included my wife.

This was the first trip in 5 years without our kids.

We’ve done dates and nights out, but this was our first multiple nights away trip.

Despite the 7 plus hour drive there and back, getting a flat tire, staying up way later than I normally care to, and a one hour time change, I felt energized.

I was surrounded by people and moments that fueled me.

It was a short trip with lots of driving, but it was filled with great memories and laughter.

We all have to find ways to fill our tank.

Or if you’d prefer, charge our batteries.

We can only operate on the same pattern and routine for so long.

With that being said, we can’t always just run off for the weekend and recharge the old battery.

So, this is where doing a relationship audit can help.

Find the people at work who give you energy.

Find the people at home who give you energy.

Determine the friends who give you energy.

Find the places that give you energy.

Make a list including 3 columns.

Gives energy, Takes Energy, Both.

What you’ll find is there are going to be several people, especially people you spend a lot of time with, that do both.

For example, I love my kids, but they are both energy givers and takers.

Once you create your list, take all the people who are in the both category.

Start to figure out when they give you energy and in what places or environments they take energy.

Start to eliminate those places or people who do nothing but steal your energy.

We can control a lot of where we give our time and energy.

We can absolutely control who we give it to.

Some small little changes and tweaks can go a long way to having you feeling like your battery is fully charged more often.

  • Outcomes are rarely something we can control.

One of the greatest struggles of life is accepting that results are not within our control.

It doesn't matter what field your in or path your on, results will always be decided by a combination of things.

Take this weekend's selection committee's decision to leave out FSU.

Undefeated season.

Conference Champions.

2-0 against the SEC.

One of the top defenses in the nation.

But, due to someone's "eyes" they don't look the part.

A team that lost by 10 at home.

Needed a Hail Mary to beat their rival.

Struggled in games against average opponents USF, Texas A&M, and Arkansas.

But according to someone's "eyes" they are the better football team.

I'm not saying all this to say that the committee is right or wrong.

I personally believe what you do on a football field matters and if you win all the games on your schedule, and another team didn't, you should get your shot.

I'm writing this not to argue for FSU to get a spot in the CFP, but to remind us all that life isn't fair.

We will all face unjust decisions and outcomes.

You can do everything right and still not end up where you wanted.

This is why the pursuit of greatness is so hard.

It'd be easy to justify your anger in this moment.

To justify quitting or throwing a tantrum.

But the great's find a way to ignore the results and keep showing up.

The more often you can find a way to show up, especially after a result you don't like, the more likely you are to eventually win.

Life is full of unfair moments.

Just this weekend I found myself with a flat tire right before my 7 hour drive back home.

It cost me several hours and several hundred dollars.

I could have easily started throwing a tantrum, lost my cool, and been angry at the world.

And while the situation was unfortunate, I still got home.

I got everything fixed and made it back.

I chose to look at the bright side of the situation.

At least I wasn’t on the freeway when it blew out.

At least I was still with friends to help me navigate the situation and find a place to go.

At least I had a good spare.

At least I didn’t get into an accident.

Don't let the actions of others or circumstances outside of your control to stop your progress toward excellence.

Whether it’s losing out on a job promotion, a big contract, being passed over by a committee, or a simple flat tire.

Continue to put in the work.

Life will continue to be unfair.

Those who choose to complain about the situations that aren’t fair, will find more of them.

Those who choose to continue to do work and press on, will be less effected by the unfortunate negative moments.

I hope FSU wins their bowl game and finishes this season strong.

It'd be a fitting way for a championship program to close things out.

By continuing to show up despite what others say about you.

Keep striving for more.

3 Good Things

Good Watch:

I recently came across this video with Peter Attia and Chris Williamson. This short clip is focused on nutrition and I found it extremely insightful. I think if you’re looking for different ways to attack your nutrition, check out this conversations here.

Good Read:

We’re all telling stories. Whether we’re with friends, meeting with investors, talking to a board room, giving a presentation, we’re telling a story. But why do some stories make an impact and others don’t? Why do you remember a commercial from the 1992 Super Bowl, but can’t remember the story your co-worker told you this morning? In Stories That Stick, Kindra Hall explains how to make your stories carrie more impact. This was a fun and interesting read.

Good Motivation:

Sometimes we just a need a reminder that we have something worth chasing. I came across this video that is a compilation of various motivational speeches. Feeling stuck? Want a little push this morning? Give this video a quick watch and get to work!

Need a Coach?

As an athlete I always appreciated good coaching.

It often made the difference between a successful season and an average one.

When you’ve got big goal to compete at the highest level, it helps to have someone looking at the big picture, while you focus on the specific actions.

Have you got something big coming up?

Need someone to help organize the path forward?

Let me know what you’re working on and we’ll see if I’m the right fit.

I've spent the last 15 years working with clients as a personal trainer and coach helping them build healthy sustainable habits.

During this time I've learned the psychology of habit creation, the power of systems, and why simple works better.

I'd love to help you reach your goals.

I'm currently looking to add 2 new coaching clients to my roster.

If this sounds interesting to you, connect with me today and let's schedule a call to see if we're a good fit for each other.

Email me at [email protected]

Did you know?

I often forget to share all the ways you can connect and get involved with the Edge of Greatness project.

And since you’ve made it this far, perhaps you’re interested in more of what we do.

Free:

Paid:

  1. Books: Be Great or Master of the Sea

  2. Speaking

  3. Coaching

  4. Apparel

  5. Collaboration/Sponsorships (reply to this email)

Thanks for Stopping By

Thanks for coming by. I hope you enjoyed this week's issue. If you'd like more content before next Tuesday visit The Edge of Greatness Project.

If you're working on a project or just need some help, please don't hesitate to reach out. I'd love to help you get to your next milestone. Just reply to this email.

It'd be great if you shared this with a friend. See you guys next week.