Failing

The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

Tell Me What You’re Working On

I want to know what you’re working on.

I want to hear about your successes and failures.

What struggles are you having.

It’s my goal for this newsletter to become more interactive and lead me to becoming your online coach.

Plus it will help guide me on future content.

So, after you finish finish reading today’s content, hit reply and tell me a little about yourself.

I’m looking forward to getting to know you better.

1 Quote

Failure is the condiment that gives success its flavor

Truman Capote

2 Lessons

  • You’re Asking the Wrong Question

Stop asking, “What if I fail?”

That’s the wrong question.

It's not, "What if I fail?"

It's, "What do I do WHEN I fail?"

When you remove the question about failure, you embrace it as a part of the process.

It's no longer a fear of if you might, but a focus on when you do.

It's funny how when something bad happens that is "part of the plan" we don't freak out.

If I told you something bad was going to happen and then it did, you'd be upset, but prepared.

If something bad happened that appeared as a surprise, you'd be devastated.

We react based on our perceived belief of the likelihood of that thing happening.

Failure is going to happen.

Embrace that it will.

Own that the failure that occurs on the journey is a milestone moment.

It's a moment where you can determine future success.

How?

By responding to the failure with action to correct it.

Failure isn't an outcome, it's a lesson.

It's a reminder that you don't have it all figured out yet.

You don't have all the answers. You must keep growing.

Start something new today.

Don't worry about the failure that hasn't happened yet.

Stop being paralyzed by the what if's.

You're going to fail.

Own it and step forward anyway.

Avoiding the failure of one thing will only lead to failure of another.

How will you choose to look at failure?

The choice is yours!

  • Stop Aiming for Failure

Failure isn’t the target.

Yet all the popular opinions around it are “fail fast, fail often”.

“Aim for failure.”

I know I mentioned above that you should expect failure, and you should.

But the target should never be failure.

The goal is always to win, succeed, overcome.

Failure doesn’t automatically mean you’re moving in the right direction.

Or that you learned something.

Especially, if you were aiming to fail.

If I choose to try and hold my breath for the world record time of 24 minutes and 37 seconds, I will fail.

Truthfully, this would be exactly aiming to fail.

But because there is a 0% chance of success, I’m not getting better.

I didn’t stretch my abilities, because my abilities weren’t even in the same ball park.

The failures we grow from are the ones where when we started we believed there was a real shot at success.

Then after the failure you look at why the outcome didn’t align with your perception of what you thought would happen.

Then you adjust and try again.

This is how failure helps us move forward.

If we’re constantly seeking success and growth, failure will find us on it’s own.

Like I mentioned above you will fail.

Stop looking for failure like it’s the destination you’re seeking.

Failure is not the outcome you want.

Success is.

Start aiming for the win.

Own what goes wrong.

Then try to win again.

3 Good Things

Good Watch:

I came across this video of Jordan Peterson and enjoyed the thought provoking depth of the stories he tells. I believe when we invest some time in our learning every day we become a better version of ourself.

Good Follow:

I have recently started following Justin Moore on Twitter. His entire feed is about creating content around helping creators land more sponsorships. His steps to help creators make more money through sponsorships and land renewable business is extremely helpful. He has changed the way I look at generating revenue for my online business.

Good Apparel:

I recently released a handful of new designs for the Edge of Greatness Apparel. This fall collection includes long-sleeve, sweatshirts, and hoodies. Greatness is something that we all can achieve, but the journey is often extremely challenging. The goal of our apparel is to remind you of what you’re capable of and keep an eye on creating the greatness you want in your life. Check out the fall collection.

Need a Coach?

If you’ve made it this far, I must have done something right.

If you’ve been finding value in the lessons and teachings above, and feel like you might need more, I’d love to hear more about your story.

Are you pursuing great things?

Are you in need of some guidance?

Are you feeling a little stuck?

Perhaps I can help.

I've spent the last 15 years working with clients as a personal trainer and coach helping them build healthy sustainable habits.

During this time I've learned the psychology of habit creation, the power of systems, and why simple works better.

I'd love to help you reach your goals.

I'm currently looking to add 2 new coaching clients to my roster.

If this sounds interesting to you, connect with me today and let's schedule a call to see if we're a good fit for each other.

Email me at [email protected]

Thanks for Stopping By

Thanks for coming by. I hope you enjoyed this week's issue. If you'd like more content before next Tuesday visit The Edge of Greatness Project.

If you're working on a project or just need some help, please don't hesitate to reach out. I'd love to help you get to your next milestone. Just reply to this email.

It'd be great if you shared this with a friend. See you guys next week.