Exploring Greatness Issue #6

Moving Small Stones Can Move Mountains

Welcome to Greatness

If this is your first time with us, welcome! Each week it is my goal to help you take another step closer to the greatness you're seeking. I want you to grow through each newsletter. The format is simple: 1 quote to inspire some contemplation, 2 lessons/stories for you to apply knowledge to your life, and 3 interesting learning opportunities to grow you understanding of greatness.

We are all capable of becoming great. It starts with the 7 pillars listed below.

The 7 Pillars of Greatness

  1. Work

  2. Discipline

  3. Mindset

  4. Resilience

  5. Purpose

  6. People

  7. Courage

There are many things that make up greatness. And within each of these pillars are several other skills that need to be understood and developed. If you want a deeper look at the 7 Pillars check out this document I wrote going deeper into each pillar.

Winner, Winner, Chicken Dinner!

I want to give you guys a gift. I'm going to give away 10 signed copies of my latest book Master of the Sea. If you're interested in winning a copy it's super easy to enter. All you need to do is reply to this email with the name and email address of someone who you think might benefit from this newsletter (this will not sign them up for unwanted emails). For each name and email you will get an entry.

I will then email each of the people individually and share that you thought they might enjoy this newsletter. If any of your recommendations sign up, you will get a second entry. I will announce the winners in an upcoming newsletter post, but will reach out to you for shipping information. Good luck!

1 Quote

The man who moves a mountain begins by carrying away small stones.

Confucius

2 Lessons

  • The Power of Small Stones

A few months ago I stepped on the scale and saw a number I'd never seen before.

238 pounds was starring me right in the face.

I'm a big lifter, so I didn't feel 238 nor did I feel like I looked it, but none the less there it was.

The heaviest I'd ever been.

It was time to make a change.

But, being someone who understands the overwhelming power of change, I started small.

I looked at my life and picked 2 things I knew I could change.

And that I could do consistently.

Change without consistency is never going to help you.

Too often I see people trying to change everything at once.

Or they bite off way more than they can chew.

Then a few weeks later they've already given up.

So, I started small.

I introduced intermittent fasting three times per week.

I started rucking 1 to 2 times per week.

Today I'm down over 20 pounds.

I feel lighter.

I feel more energized.

I feel like I could sustain this lifestyle forever.

The initial changes pushed me a small fraction out of my comfort zone.

It forced change, but not enough to make me want to avoid the discomfort.

But that small change sparked more change.

I have a better relationship with food.

I don't eat when I'm bored.

I don't mindlessly grab food.

I think about what that food is going to provide me.

I still snack and I still love my sweets, but now I'm conscious about how much I'm eating.

I'll throw it in a bowl instead of eat it out of the bag.

Small changes can start massive shifts.

What's something small you can do today to start making the changes you want?

  • 100 Words To a New Book.

I finished the first draft to my newest book last month.

I did it by creating consistency in my writing.

I set a goal of 100 words per day.

Then I never missed a day.

I still haven't.

A funny thing happened.

Most days I wrote way more than 100 words.

Some days I even wrote thousands of words.

But on the days where I didn't want to write or I was swamped I still wrote 100.

This small number kept me showing up.

Because the number was so small that I knew I could do it no matter what,

I eliminated the excuse not to write.

There were several days where I hit the 100 words and that was it.

But with every 100 words I added I got that much closer.

I honed my writing skills.

I improved my discipline.

I challenged my mindset to be creative.

I learned to hold myself accountable.

We don't need to make massive changes to make big impacts.

It all starts with a single stone.

Move one stone everyday.

On the days you feel good, move two.

On the days you feel great, move more.

But no matter how you feel, move one.

3 Things to Check Out

An interesting book about how small things can make a big impact is The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell. This book tells the story of different movements and what caused them to become the powerful change we remember them to be today. It's an interesting look at how small things can change everything.

Stephen Covey presents his "Big Rocks" presentation. I try to watch this video once a year and I think you will appreciate it's simple, powerful message. How will you choose to fill your bucket?

There are many things we can do in life to start the habit of doing small things. Admiral William McRaven shares how small things can change the world in his 2014 commencement speech at the University of Texas. The full speech is powerful, but here's a 6 minute clip to get you to the heart of his point.

Thanks for Stopping By

Thanks for coming by. I hope you enjoyed this week's issue. If you'd like more content before next Sunday visit The Edge of Greatness Project.

If you're working on a project or just need some help, please don't hesitate to reach out. I'd love to help you get to your next milestone. Just reply to this email.

It'd be great if you shared this with a friend. See you guys next Sunday.