Exploring Greatness Issue #4

Do Hard Things

Welcome to Greatness

If this is your first time with us, welcome! Each week it is my goal to help you take another step closer to the greatness you're seeking. I want you to grow through each newsletter. The format is simple: 1 quote to inspire some contemplation, 2 lessons/stories for you to apply knowledge to your life, and 3 interesting learning opportunities to grow you understanding of greatness.

We are all capable of becoming great. It starts with the 7 pillars listed below. 

The 7 Pillars of Greatness

  1. Work

  2. Discipline

  3. Mindset

  4. Resilience

  5. Purpose

  6. People

  7. Courage

There are many things that make up greatness. And within each of these pillars are several other skills that need to be understood and developed. If you want a deeper look at the 7 Pillars check out this document I wrote going deeper into each pillar.

Sponsor

This week's issue is brought to you by my friend Ian Roth and his newsletter Outside Voice. So much of our ability to connect with people and to share our message is in our ability to communicate. Ian shares tips and tricks to help you communicate like a boss and connect your message with the world around you. Check out his newsletter by clicking the link above or below.

1 Quote

The fears we don't face become our limits.

Robert Sharma

2 Lessons

  • Ask yourself, "What's the worst the can happen?"

There have been many moments in my life where I questioned if I should do something.

We naturally find ourselves trying to protect ourselves when in a situation where we might fail.

Situations like writing a book, starting a business, starting a podcast, trying out for the school team, going away to college, switching careers, moving, etc.

All of these situations create fear or anxiety about an outcome that has yet to happen.

I've been complimented many times on my willingness to try things.

My ability to put myself out there and "give it a go" has served me well.

That doesn't mean I don't have doubts or fears.

It doesn't mean I'm immune to the same emotions you feel.

What I do that has helped me face difficult tasks head-on is this simple routine.

I start my process by asking myself, what's the worst the could happen?

I list every possible negative outcome.

Even the extreme, most unlikely ones.

I think about if every single thing when wrong, what would happen?

Then I evaluate if all of this happens and it goes this bad, how would I feel?

What would I do next? 

By visualizing the worst possible outcome first I can prepare for what it might be like if it all falls apart.

It also allows me to start to plan contingencies for potential mistakes.

I start problem solving for situations that haven't happened yet. 

This allows me to react when things go wrong with precision and remove emotion.

Things will ultimately go wrong with anything you do.

Planning for that moment before it happens increases your odds of success.

It also gives me confidence that I can make it through anything that might come next.

So, next time you're feeling stuck about taking on a project or starting something new; ask yourself, "what's the worst that could happen?"

  • Do hard things.

This week I did my first ruck.

I didn't go far, but it was a new kind of challenge.

I ended up going 1.5 miles in just under 30 minutes with a 45 lbs plate in my pack.

It was the right amount of hard.

But it got me thinking about all the challenging things I've added to my life lately.

I've added cold showers, rucking, isometric holds, and fasting.

Each of these challenges me in a different way.

I definitely won't say I look forward to any of them.

But I love how I feel after I survive the suffering that occurs during the activity.

The way my mind feels about what I can accomplish is incredible.

After suffering though that moment I feel unstoppable.

I believe that anything I have to deal with is possible.

Learning to suffer through discomfort gives me strength to know I can do hard things.

If you live your life in a state of constant comfort, then you will find when things become hard you'll buckle.

Learning to do hard things is a skill.

By developing this skill you become more resilient at that task, but also at future challenges and tasks.

Pick a task you don't necessarily like, but you know it has benefits to you.

Try to do it for 30 days.

It can be anything; exercise, nutrition, meditation, physical or psychological.

It doesn't matter.

It just matters that you show up every day and do it.

Be consistent, and do the hard thing.

Then watch how you attack other hard tasks in your life.

3 Things to Check Out

Like I mentioned above I believe that communication is a key component of greatness. It's why I'm recommending you check out Ian's newsletter. It's also why I'm recommending Joe Ferraro's Speaking Bootcamp. Joe is one of the best communicators and educators that I've had the privilege to get to know through my time as a podcaster. I took his first cohort and recommend anyone looking to up their speaking game, check this out.

Sometimes investing in yourself is the best way to advance your life and your career.

As I mentioned above I'm a fan of doing hard things. I'm not alone in this. Michael Easter is the author of The Comfort Crisis and believer that we must continue to push our level of comfort often in order to unlock our human potential. He believes in the ancient quest of Misogi as a way to push ourselves to our breaking point and find what we're made of. There are 2 rules for Misogi; 1. Make it really hard (50/50 chance of finishing) and 2. Don't die (must be safe).

Check out this Misogi Retreat with Michael Easter in Costa Rica.

To keep the theme going today. Check out The Art of Resilience by Ross Edgley. In this book he chronicles his swim around Great Britain. Yea, you read that right. During this swim he faces all kinds of challenges and this book teaches us so much about what we're capable of doing. If you're interested in upping the challenges in your life and doing hard things, you'll enjoy this book.

Thanks for Stopping By

Thanks for coming by. I hope you enjoyed this week's issue. If you'd like more content before next Sunday visit The Edge of Greatness Project.

If you're working on a project or just need some help, please don't hesitate to reach out. I'd love to help you get to your next milestone. Just reply to this email.

It'd be great if you shared this with a friend. See you guys next Sunday.