Exploring Greatness Issue #3

Courage is Calling

Welcome to Greatness

If this is your first time with us, welcome! Each week it is my goal to help you take another step closer to the greatness you're seeking. I want you to grow through each newsletter. The format is simple: 1 quote to inspire some contemplation, 2 lessons/stories for you to apply knowledge to your life, and 3 interesting learning opportunities to grow you understanding of greatness.

We are all capable of becoming great. It starts with the 7 pillars listed below.

The 7 Pillars of Greatness

  1. Work

  2. Discipline

  3. Mindset

  4. Resilience

  5. Purpose

  6. People

  7. Courage

There are many things that make up greatness. And within each of these pillars are several other skills that need to be understood and developed. If you want a deeper look at the 7 Pillars check out this document I wrote going deeper into each pillar.

1 Quote

Fortune favors the bold. Fortune favors the brave. It favors the big plans. It favors the risk-taking.

2 Lessons

  • The cow and the buffalo

Some time ago I heard the story about the cow and the buffalo.

At the time I thought it was just an interesting story, but today I see it as a powerful lesson that can be applied to a lot of tough situations.

The story goes that when cows and buffalo sense a storm is coming, they do two very different things.

The cow will turn away from the storm and attempt to outrun it.

But we can't outrun the storms.

And neither can the cows.

Once the storm catches the cow they continue to move in the direction the storm is going.

But by doing so, they find themselves moving with the storm.

Staying in the storm for longer.

So, by attempting to avoid the storm they end up struggling through it for longer.

On the other hand when buffalo sense a storm is coming they will turn and start to walk toward it.

They arrive at the storm, just as the cow did, but because they do not fear the storm they pass through it.

Their courage to move into the storm allows them to spend less time in it.

We will all have storms in our life.

These storms can represent a wide variety of things.

Some storms will change our lives for others, while some will only be a blip on the radar.

The size of the storm doesn't matter though, how we approach our storms does.

We need to stop trying to avoid the storms.

Be the buffalo.

Take the storm on.

Because avoiding the storm doesn't save you from facing it.

It just gives it more time to gain power.

You ever notice how a hurricane continues to build strength until it reaches land?

You have the ability to calm the storm.

You are the land.

The longer you wait to step into the storm the stronger it will become.

So, the next time you see a storm on the horizon of your life, don't try to outrun it.

Turn and face it.

Charge straight into it and face whatever challenge it brings with it head on.

It's going to suck for a moment.

All storms do.

But by facing it head on, you will spend less time in it.

Be the buffalo.

  • Find the courage to struggle.

We tend to avoid things that cause us suffering or make us struggle.

It's in our nature to find the path of least resistance.

There is nothing enjoyable about suffering or struggling.

Yet, we are designed to do both.

We are at our best when we face tough moments head on.

My greatest triumphs in life have come after some amount of struggle.

It was through the struggle that I found strength.

Take a moment to think of times in your life that you struggled.

It could be a physical struggle, emotional struggle, financial struggle, or any combination.

If you're having trouble I'll share one of mine.

I was in my senior year of college.

I had started around 170 games or so to this point in my career.

I was having a very solid career.

When I suddenly found myself on the bench.

After 3.5 years of starting I was watching as my teammates took the field each day to compete.

It was an extremely low point in my career and life to this point.

I thought everyday about quitting.

I don't think anyone would have blamed me, especially when I didn't get to start on senior day.

I chose not to, which I'm glad, because it taught me a lot.

It taught me that I am more than a baseball player.

It taught me that I have the strength to endure emotionally challenging moments.

It taught me that bad things will happen in your life that you can't control.

It taught me that when those things happen the only thing that matters is how you show up.

It taught me that struggle is ok.

That life will go on and I will be ok.

I was rewarded for my strength during these tough days.

I got to start in the conference tournament.

During which I went 6 for 8 in the two games.

Ultimately, you will face many struggles in your life.

They don't have to be massive life altering events that you struggle.

Maybe it's just something as simple as going to the gym and struggling through a workout.

You got stronger from that.

The main point I want you to understand is that, struggle and suffering isn't bad.

It's definitely not fun.

But if you look into those moments you will find something valuable.

3 Things to Check Out

If you've been enjoying these last few newsletters, perhaps you'd enjoy some of my other writing as well. I recently released a book Master of the Sea, which is a short story about possibilities. It's a short, easy read with a powerful message about learning to navigate through life on the sea of possibilities. There are two ways you can purchase this book: Amazon or get a signed copy here.

If you've already had a chance to read this book, I'd love it if you'd use that Amazon link above and leave me a review!

Do you hate the cold? When was the last time you made yourself uncomfortable by getting cold? There's a lot of talk these days about cold plunges and cold showers. There are many benefits from getting ourselves out of our comfort zone and finding ways to get cold. Listen to the Iceman himself, Wim Hof, as he discusses the benefits of daily cold showers. Check out this 12 minute video here.

What is courage? According to Cara E. Yar Khan, it's a beautiful balance between fear and bravery. It's something we must deal with and battle every single day. How will you face your fear? How will you show up with bravery? Do you think you have what it takes to be courageous? I think you do, here's a video for you!

Thanks for Stopping By

Thanks for coming by. I hope you enjoyed this week's issue. If you'd like more content before next Sunday visit The Edge of Greatness Project.

If you're working on a project or just need some help, please don't hesitate to reach out. I'd love to help you get to your next milestone. Just reply to this email.

It'd be great if you shared this with a friend. See you guys next Sunday.