Exploring Greatness Issue #18

The Power of Slow

Quick Update

For those of you following my podcast I’m going to be taking a break from producing episodes over the next month.

I will continue to publish my newsletter and put content on social pages.

If you don’t already, make sure you follow Instagram, YouTube, Facebook, and Twitter.

I’ll be back to business as usual starting in July.

1 Quote

Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.

Lao Tzu

2 Lessons

  • Taking a Break

I’m excited.

We leave for vacation this coming weekend.

I’ve been go, go, go for so long I’m looking forward to taking a break.

Too often taking time for ourself is the last thing we do.

Grind culture, hustle 24/7, “I’ll rest when I’m dead,” and everything else seems to consume people.

But there is power in taking a break.

There is power in slowing down.

When you turn off the deadlines in your mind you free it to wander.

You free it to discover new things.

I’m curious what new ideas will surface when I’m not forcing my brain to focus on a specific task.

The other thing that’s often ignored is we’re like a rechargeable battery.

We can run for quite a while with short charge periods if we take care of our sleep and health.

But eventually we won’t be getting the same charge and won’t be operating at the same level.

This is when a longer, more substantial break can be useful.

Vacation is often a great way to reset everything because you often do things you normally wouldn’t do.

I for one, will spend a lot more time with my family.

This is something that as of late I’ve done more, but typically hadn’t been my normal.

This week will be all about spending time with my kids, parents, in-laws.

I’m excited to have these moments.

The last thing that taking a break does for me is create a sense of excitement around getting back to work.

By not doing work (or at least not as much) I realize just how much I love what I do.

I’m always excited to get back to work when I get home.

I feel motivated and hungry to create something new.

The last 2 books I wrote have come from my time on vacation.

Perhaps the next book is waiting to be discovered on this one.

Remember there will always be more work.

Slow down, take a break.

You’ll be happy that you did, and your work will improve because of it.

  • Slow and Consistent > Fast and Erratic

Do you feel like you have million things to do?

Everyday your list is half a mile long?

Then no matter how hard you work and how much you get done the list never seems to get any shorter.

You’re not a lone.

I used to try to power through everything.

Hurry up and finish only to find that I had six other things I needed to get done right after.

My life was one project after another, with nothing really ever getting my full attention.

I was often too worried about the next thing before the last thing was done.

Then I started structuring my days and weeks a new way.

I began to have priority tasks.

I’d pick one main task for each day and two sub-tasks.

Everything else can wait.

I slowed my world down.

I stopped worrying about ALL my projects and focused my energy on ONE project.

Suddenly, I started getting more done.

I started having more time.

More energy.

More focus.

By slowing down, I actually sped up.

My mind was free to attack the priority task each day and I knew that anything else that popped up could wait.

I started writing down all of my mind wandering thoughts.

I have been doing this tactic now for a little over two years, and I have never missed a priority task.

The other thing that this practice has done is give me peace of mind to walk away from work.

I used to stick around or hold onto work at home because it wasn’t finished and I needed to get it done now.

Now, I feel good about quitting time.

I feel as long as I accomplished my main task, the other stuff will get done in due time.

There will always be work to do.

There will always be deadlines and projects in your mind.

But they don’t have to control every waking hour.

By slowing down.

By prioritizing my day.

By being willing to leave things undone,

I have become more present at home and more fun to be around.

Lastly, I’ve started to understand what I can get done in a day.

Because I only focus on one major task I realize just how much work I can complete.

This has made me better at hitting deadlines.

I understand what is being asked of me each day and just how much I can do.

So, if you’re struggling with all the work on your plate.

You can’t ever turn your mind off.

Try slowing down.

Pick ONE task each day and know you’ve been productive, tomorrow you’ll do the same.

I think you’ll find there’s some serious power in taking things slow.

Mind, Body, Spirit

Mind:

How can we master slowing down? There are many ways we can start to slow the world around us, and in this TEDx talk given by Ralph Simone, he talks about some ways we can slow down to go faster. This 14 minute video is all about creating ways to work smarter, not harder. How can you reduce your busyness?

Body:

Just like our mind needs a break, so too does our body. There are times that we need to slow down on the exercise front. In this video Elliot Hulse explains why we stop seeing results during training. Are you working way too hard? Is it time to take a break? Check out this video and decide for yourself.

Spirit:

In this video Gabby Bernstein dives into the power of slowing down and how to choose to go slow. Gabby has an interesting way of presenting this information and how we can make the changes we need to make in our life in order to slow down.

Need a Coach?

Are you making progress toward your goals and dreams?

Do you feel stuck?

Perhaps I can help.

I've spent the last 10 years working with clients as a personal trainer and coach helping them build healthy sustainable habits.

During this time I've learned the psychology of habit creation, as well as the art of developing a system to increase productivity.

I'd love to help you reach your goals.

I'm currently looking to add 1 new coaching clients to my roster.

If this sounds interesting to you, connect with me today and let's schedule a call to see if we're a good fit for each other.

Email me at [email protected]

Thanks for Stopping By

Thanks for coming by. I hope you enjoyed this week's issue. If you'd like more content before next Sunday visit The Edge of Greatness Project.

If you're working on a project or just need some help, please don't hesitate to reach out. I'd love to help you get to your next milestone. Just reply to this email.

It'd be great if you shared this with a friend. See you guys next Sunday.

Special Recommendation:

Check out this week’s partner OPPO Flow Storybook.

If you have enjoyed this newsletter, you’ll appreciate this deeper look into mindset shift and opportunity stories.

OPPO FLOW StorybookFlying a Mindset Shift Straight to your Inbox!