Exploring Greatness Issue #16

Tell Your Mom You Love Her

Quick Update

Two quick things before we get into things today.

First, I’m still looking to add 2 coaching clients to my current stable of clients.

If you’re in a place where you could use some help, reply to this email and let’s jump on a call.

Second, we’re only as good as the people we choose to keep in our life.

I hope you all took a minute to wish your mother and all the other mother’s you know out there a very happy Mother’s Day.

1 Quote

Mother’s love is the fuel that enables a normal human being to do the impossible.

Marion C. Garretty

2 Lessons

  • Powered by Many Mothers

I’m so very lucky.

I have an incredible mother.

Even more than that I’ve been blessed by having several incredible mother figures in my life.

I understand that we don’t get to choose our mom.

Sometimes people grow up without that kind of love.

But, I also think that there are ways to get a mother’s love even if you weren’t as lucky as me to have an amazing mom.

I believe this because while my mom is without a doubt the best, I have also had several incredible women help my mom in raising me.

Each of them loved me as their own and I’ve felt the power of having a mother’s love in many different ways.

I had a really good friend, Jason, in elementary school that I spent a lot of time with.

We played baseball together and for a while were pretty inseparable.

But what made the relationship even better is that his house felt like home.

His parents treated me as if I was one of their kids.

His mom, Kim, was my first second mom.

Then as I moved into High School, Jason and I went our different ways.

We were still good friends, but we no longer spent as much time together.

Yet somehow I found myself with another great friend and family to spend time with.

My high school best friend, Kyle, and his family invited me in.

His mother, Johneen, became my second second mom.

I spent a lot of time there throughout high school and whether I was at home or at his house we knew we were loved.

It was a special feeling to know that I had someone who cared about me as much as those two mother’s did.

I wasn’t their kid, but I knew they cared for me.

Now I’m almost 40 and married.

But as part of being married I inherited a new family.

My wife’s family.

Again I was lucky.

I have felt very loved.

I feel as if I’ve grown up my entire life surrounded by a tribe of incredible women that I feel lucky to call mom.

My mother-in-law Beth has opened her heart and her home to me and welcomed me to the family.

You always hear horror stories of “the in-laws” and I’m happy to say, I avoided that one.

The point of this long story is that we need love in our life.

We need to feel cared for.

And whether you were born with an incredible mother, or you find one somewhere else, that love is still powerful.

So, thank you to the incredible women I was lucky enough to call mom throughout my life.

You’ve made me a better man, and I hope you all have a wonderful day!

  • An Extra Special Thank You to My Mother

Today I just want to say thank you again.

Thank you for always believing in me.

Thank you for always supporting me.

Thank you for dealing with my teenage years with so much grace (I know I wasn’t always easy).

Thank you for pushing me to be my best.

Thank you for coming to all of my games.

Thank you for giving up things in order to help me achieve my dreams.

Thank you for always loving me, even when I’m sure I made it hard.

Thank you for being an amazing mom.

Thank you for being an amazing grandma.

Thank you for showing me how to love.

Thank you for teaching me compassion.

Thank you for not giving me an easy way out.

Thank you!

We’ll have to get a new picture in a few weeks in Hilton Head.

Mind, Body, Spirit

Mind:

How do you approach your morning? I believe we all need some kind of routine to allow us to be at our best and make it through each morning ready to rock and roll. Nick Bare presents in this video how his routine has changed and evolved over time. I think it’s important to understand that we need routines, but that they will change as our lives change. Find something that works for you, but then be willing to adjust as your life does.

Body:

What does it mean to train for longevity? How do we maximize the training we’re doing to ensure that we’re aging the way we want? Check out this short clip from The Joe Rogan Experience featuring Dr. Peter Attia as he dives into the benefits of strength training a few ways to test where you’re at today. When was the last time you tested your strength?

Spirit:

This week had some additional moments of anxiety for me. I spent a lot of time trying to right myself and find some calm. I did this through some different breathing techniques. This video looks at box breathing. This technique can help you find calm, reset your breathing, and control your emotions. Give it a go and let me know how you feel.

Need a Coach?

Are you making progress toward your goals and dreams?

Do you feel stuck?

Perhaps I can help.

I've spent the last 10 years working with clients as a personal trainer and coach helping them build healthy sustainable habits.

During this time I've learned the psychology of habit creation, as well as the art of developing a system to increase productivity.

I'd love to help you reach your goals.

I'm currently looking to add 2 new coaching clients to my roster.

If this sounds interesting to you, connect with me today and let's schedule a call to see if we're a good fit for each other.

Email me at [email protected]

Thanks for Stopping By

Thanks for coming by. I hope you enjoyed this week's issue. If you'd like more content before next Sunday visit The Edge of Greatness Project.

If you're working on a project or just need some help, please don't hesitate to reach out. I'd love to help you get to your next milestone. Just reply to this email.

It'd be great if you shared this with a friend. See you guys next Tuesday.

Special Recommendation:

Check out this week’s partner OPPO Flow Storybook.

If you have enjoyed this newsletter, you’ll appreciate this deeper look into mindset shift and opportunity stories.

OPPO FLOW StorybookFlying a Mindset Shift Straight to your Inbox!