Exploring Greatness Issue #14

Winning Everyday

Need a Coach?

Are you making progress toward your goals and dreams?

Do you feel stuck?

Perhaps I can help.

I've spent the last 10 years working with clients as a personal trainer and coach helping them build healthy sustainable habits.

During this time I've learned the psychology of habit creation, as well as the art of developing a system to increase productivity.

I'd love to help you reach your goals.

I'm currently looking to add 2 new coaching clients to my roster.

If this sounds interesting to you, connect with me today and let's schedule a call to see if we're a good fit for each other.

Email me at [email protected]

1 Quote

You have good days, you have bad days. But the main thing is to grow mentally.

Floyd Mayweather Jr.

2 Lessons

  • Win your B and C Days.

I believe we live our life on a bell curve.

We have good days, average days, and tough days.

I came to this belief from a book by the late Ken Ravizza, Heads-up Baseball.

In the book he talks about competing with our A game, B game, and C game.

But I believe we live our life with the same curve as we play sports.

We won’t show up every day with our A game.

In fact most of our life will be lived with our B game.

But that’s ok.

We can win a lot with our B stuff.

Before I get any further though I want you to look at life like this.

A days look like this:

  • Motivated

  • Locked in

  • Everything is working

  • It’s easy

  • No distractions

  • No stress

  • No anxiety

  • Feeling great

B days look like:

  • Hard to get going

  • A little tired

  • Able to work, but slightly unfocused

  • Easily distracted

  • Feeling pressure to get things done

  • Everything feels a little more like work

  • Sluggish

C days look like:

  • Unmotivated

  • Exhausted

  • Stressed

  • Anxious

  • Unfocused

  • Can’t get locked in

  • Everything is work (even the simple things)

Most of our days will be B days.

  • 15% of days A stuff

  • 15% of days C stuff

  • 70% of days B stuff

We can do good things on B days.

But it’s going to require you to show up and put in the work.

We can’t control what kind of day we get.

Finding ways to turn your B days into A days, and C days into B days is where you win.

How you show up in those B and C days set the tone for the life you want.

It’s easy to win when you have your best stuff.

Can you still show up as your best self when the work is hard?

Understanding that B and C days are normal can help.

In fact, they’re common.

You won’t always have your A stuff.

Most days you won’t.

But you can win a lot with B stuff.

It comes down to learning how to be your best when you’re not at your best.

Win your B days and you’ll find a way to jump forward.

Win your C days and you become a legend.

Your mindset when you show up to compete is the most important part.

  • A New Perspective

Often we are blinded by the way we see the world.

We find ourself looking through the same lens over and over.

But the world is full of solutions to all of our problems and often it’s just a change in perspective.

I first learned about the power of perspective while dabbling in photography.

I love landscape shots.

But the best landscape shots aren’t the ones where everyone lines up and takes a picture from the same place, but the one that provides a new and unique perspective.

An angle nobody else has tried.

I different focal point.

The images above are of the same canyon.

One is shot portrait and one landscape.

By changing perspective I give each image a unique feel.

You are drawn to different aspects of the canyon.

The lighting changes.

The feel of the walls and the path are different.

But the truth is these are all the same place.

Don’t lose perspective of the world around you because you’re comfortable looking at it a certain way.

Step back, step forward, duck down, stand on a rock.

Change the way you look at things.

The solution you seek might be right in front of you, but obstructed from your current perspective.

This holds true when someone has a different set of thoughts than you as well.

They may be seeing the world from a different vantage point.

Aim for understanding.

The 4 images above are of the same mountain.

Mt. McKinley in Denali National Park.

Each location is only miles apart, but the view is drastically different.

We see what is only in front of us.

But the world is much bigger than that.

It’s time for us to stop looking in only one direction, and to seek new perspectives.

This is where we start to grow.

This is where we start to learn.

Find the unique vantage point and explore what’s out there for you to discover.

Photography has taught me a lot about perspective.

But the people I’ve interacted with and learned from have taught me more.

Open your mind to the possibilities and no solution is out of reach.

Mind, Body, Spirit

Mind:

I recently had a conversation with Andrew Harris. Andy has had a challenging journey over the last few years. He got divorced, struggled through alcohol problems, and got lost. But then he took control of his mind, found a new identity, and made his way back. During our conversation he talks about how. Check it out here.

Body:

I’ve recently been working with some time restricted feeding (intermittent fasting) to help my relationship with food. In this video Dr. Peter Attia talks about the benefits of training during fasting. Primarily the importance of strength training.

Spirit:

Finding peace is a powerful way to improve your life. One of the ways we can do this is through our faith. I know not everyone is spiritual or believes in God, but for me this is an important part of who I am. I recently was introduced to Tyler Todt and I’m a firm believer that it was God who put him in my life. He has powerful story of faith and today I felt I’d share that with you. Check out his video here.

Thanks for Stopping By

Thanks for coming by. I hope you enjoyed this week's issue. If you'd like more content before next Tuesday visit The Edge of Greatness Project.

If you're working on a project or just need some help, please don't hesitate to reach out. I'd love to help you get to your next milestone. Just reply to this email.

It'd be great if you shared this with a friend. See you guys next Tuesday.