Exploring Greatness Issue #11

A Mindset of Greatness

Welcome to The Edge of Greatness

Hope everyone had a great Easter weekend.

Greatness is an honorable journey. It's a constant quest of improvement. It's a life of becoming your best self. If this is your first time joining us, welcome. Each week you will receive a quote, 2 lessons, and 3 learning opportunities.

For those of you who have been with us for a while, thank you. It'd go a long way to helping this newsletter reach more people if you'd share it with one person today.

1 Quote

No matter what your ability is, effort is what ignites that ability and turns it into accomplishment.

Carol Dweck

2 Lessons

  • Growth Mindset

Ever wonder what separates the greats from everyone else?

Their mindset.

While many of us suffer from a fixed mindset, those who succeed at the highest level believe.

They believe that they can learn anything.

They believe they can improve anything.

They believe that nothing is out of reach.

The battle between fixed mindset and growth mindset happens within all of us.

It's easy to think a situation is dire when things aren't going our way.

Leaning into a belief that we can always get better is powerful.

This has been something I've possessed as long as I can remember.

I always believe I can figure it out.

Now, this doesn't mean that I think I'm going to be successful at everything, every time.

It means I believe I can improve any skill.

I believe that I can figure it out.

I believe that given enough time I can become proficient.

This is the mindset I wish for you to adopt as well.

It's not a mindset of thinking you've already got it.

It's the mindset I can learn it.

A simple belief that you can improve can change everything.

Suddenly you're not longer bad at something, you're just not practiced enough.

Learning how to adopt this mindset will open doors for you that have long been locked.

The truth is we're always improving.

No matter how bad you are now, it can get better.

We're not fixed.

Look at your life and examine every skill you think you're good at now.

Are you better today than you were 6 months ago?

A year ago?

10 years ago?

Approach everything with a mindset of improvement.

Change the way you see your skill.

  • Fail Forward

I love this sentiment.

It's the perfect growth mindset mantra.

It speaks to the constant learning process of getting better.

Every great success was built off the backs of many smaller failures.

This mindset also has provided me with the courage to take risks.

For me, I believe failure is an inevitable part of success.

I know at some point I will face failure.

Because I believe this I'm willing to put myself out there.

I'm willing to take chances on things.

Obviously, within reason.

My belief is I will either succeed or learn something new.

If you thought like this, would you take more chances?

If the worst case scenario is that you learned something, would you take the risk?

Granted, there are often other things associated with the learning.

This is something you must weigh out for yourself.

However, for me, I like to look at every situation as a potential learning opportunity.

I've taken several risks over the last few years because of this mindset.

I started a podcast without any experience.

Now I'm closing in on 250 episodes.

I self published a book (actually a couple).

I spoke at a coaching event.

Did I get it right the first time?

Not at all.

But, with each risk, I get better.

Each time I jump into the deep end, I rush back to the safety of the wall a little slower.

What risks have you taken lately?

What failures have opened up new opportunities for you?

How do you approach new situations?

Perhaps it's time to start thinking about how you can fail forward.

Mind, Body, Spirit

Mind:

I've been recently working my way through Thinking Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman. If you're curious about how the mind works and how our brain chooses to solve problems, this book is incredibly interesting. I believe understanding how our mind works through problems and comes up with solutions can help us to make better decisions and be more consistent with our problem solving. We're wired a certain way, it's time to start to understand that wiring.

Body:

I believe that one of the best ways of building the body that you want and to create a powerful fitness habit is to maximize your home lifestyle. And what better way to do that than with your own home gym. Recently I came across Coop and his YouTube page Garage Gym Reviews. One this page he reviews anything you could possibly think of and helps you build out the best home gym you could imagine, no matter your budget.

Spirit:

Are you struggling with your current mental state? Are you in need of getting your energy back and finding your center? Perhaps it's time to get back out in nature. I never feel better than when I spend time in the outdoors. There is power in the world around us to get our minds back where they need to be and create peace within. Check out this video about the mental health benefits of being in nature.

Coaching Available

I'm often surprised to hear people didn't know that I offer coaching. So, I want to remove any doubt, I provide coaching. If you find yourself struggling in any of the 7 pillars of greatness, I'd love to help you get re-aligned. Not sure what your practice or work should look like, struggling with discipline or mindset, need to become more resilient or courageous, perhaps you're not sure what your purpose is who you should have on your team; I can help.

If you'd like to schedule an introductory call reply to this email and let's get on a call.

Thanks for Stopping By

Thanks for coming by. I hope you enjoyed this week's issue. If you'd like more content before next Sunday visit The Edge of Greatness Project.

If you're working on a project or just need some help, please don't hesitate to reach out. I'd love to help you get to your next milestone. Just reply to this email.

It'd be great if you shared this with a friend. See you guys next Sunday.